Award entries CLOSE
3RD MAY 2019

Winners of the 2016 Think Brick Awards Announced

Think Brick Australia (8/8/2016)

 Winners of the 2016 Think Brick Awards Announced


Announced at Think Brick Australia’s Gala Dinner at the Ivy Ballroom in Sydney on Friday, 5 August, twenty-five outstanding projects from across Australia have been recognized in the 2016 Think Brick Awards, Australia’s richest design awards. This year marks a decade of the Think Brick Awards, a program that celebrates excellence in the use of clay brick, concrete masonry and roof tiles by Australia’s best architects and designers.


Excellence is recognized across five categories: the Horbury Hunt Commercial Award, the Horbury Hunt Residential Award, the Kevin Borland Masonry Award, the Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award, and the Robin Dods Terracotta Roof Award.


Each of this year’s winners imaginatively and innovatively explored brick construction, concrete masonry or roof tiles, challenging preconceived ideas about the use of some of the world’s oldest and most trusted building materials. In the twenty-five nominated projects, the versatility of these materials was showcased, from pizzerias and revitalized alleyways, to inner-city homes and university campuses. All of the finalists eloquently demonstrated the metamorphosis from material beginnings to masterpiece. 


In 2016, the Awards jury considered a record number of projects, with the twenty-five finalists selected from over 330 entries. This impressive body of work was considered by an eminent jury comprising of renowned local and international architects and experts, including Guy Lake (Director, Bates Smart), Clare Cousins (Director, Clare Cousins Architects), Jeremy Edmiston (Principal, SYSTEMarchitects), Neil Durbach (Principal, Durbach Block Jaggers Architects), Cameron Bruhn (Editorial Director, Architecture Media) and Elizabeth McIntyre (Group CEO, Concrete Masonry Association of Australia, Roofing Tile Association of Australia and Think Brick Australia).


The Think Brick Awards provides a $15,000 cash prize for the Robin Dods Terracotta Roof Award and a $10,000 cash prize for each of the other four Award categories, along with the chance for each of the five Award recipients also to win the Grand Prix Award – two Business Class tickets to the 2018 Venice Biennale.


The winners and finalists from the 2016 Think Brick Awards are:


Horbury Hunt Residential Award winner and Grand Prix Award:

Applecross House (WA) by Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects

Horbury Hunt Residential Award finalists:

Carr Place Residence (WA) by Klopper & Davis Architects
Naranga Avenue House (Qld) by James Russell Architect
YtH Residence (NSW) by Scott Carver

Carlton Cloister (Vic) by MRTN Architects


Horbury Hunt Commercial Award winner:

Antica Pizzeria E Cucina (SA) by Genesin Studio

Horbury Hunt Commercial Award finalists:

Australian Ballet School (Vic) by MGS Architects

C3 Gallery (Vic) by Folk Architects

Sydney 385 (NSW) by Smart Design Studio
Saltwater Community Centre (Vic) by Croxon Ramsay Architects


Kevin Borland Masonry Award winner:

Hoddle House (Vic) by Freadman White

Kevin Borland Masonry Award finalists:

Trentham House (NSW) by Adam Kane Architects
Paling Court Residential Aged Care Facility (NSW) by Jackson Teece

Shambles Brewery (Tas) by Room 11 Architects
Hiding House (Vic) by Jackson Clements Burrows


Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award winner:

Kensington Street (NSW) by Turf Design (with Jeppe Aargaard Andersen)


Bruce Mackenzie Landscape Award finalists:

Bingara Country Club (NSW) by Jane Irwin Landscape Architecture
Earth Sciences Garden, Monash University (Vic) by Rush\Wright Associates
UTS Alumni Green (NSW) by ASPECT Studios
Central Reserve, Blackwood Park (SA) by Outerspace Landscape Architects


Robin Dods Terracotta Roof Award winner:

Elias House (Vic) by Harmer Architecture


Robin Dods Terracotta Roof Award finalists:

Saint Columba’s Catholic Church (WA) by Bruce Callow & Associates

Bayside Fire Station (Qld) by Owen Architecture
Knox Grammar – Knox Senior Study Academy (NSW) by JSA Studio

Hawthorn Shingle House (Vic) by Jane Riddell Architects


For images and full jury citations for the winners and finalists, please contact Casey van Es -; or (02) 8448 5500.