Award entries CLOSE
3RD MAY 2019

Australia Prepares to Celebrate Brick Design and Architecture

Think Brick Awards (14/12/2015)

Think Brick Australia, the peak industry body representing the clay brick and paver manufacturers of Australia is proud to announce that judging of the annual Horbury Hunt Award, which celebrates vision and inspiration in brick architecture and design has been completed. Winners will be announced at a gala dinner on October 25.

The prestigious Horbury Hunt Award was first included in the Think Brick Awards in 2006 at the request of the architecture community and named after the renowned architect of the same name. They encourage architects, designers and builders to re-think the possibilities of brick and to innovate with their creations.

Each year the awards recognise Australia’s best brick architecture and craftsmanship in commercial, residential and landscape projects. They are also an exhibition of the latest building trends and products from Australian brick manufacturers.

The independent judging panel consists of architectural professionals and industry representatives including: Camilla Block, Director of Durbach Block Jaggers ; Cameron Bruhn, Editorial Director of Architecture Australia; Neil Durbach, Director of Durbach Block Jaggers; Elizabeth McIntyre, CEO of Think Brick Australia; Rachel Neeson, Director of Neeson Murcutt Architects; and Emma Williamson Practice Director of CODA Studio.

Following the judging, Elizabeth McIntyre, CEO of Think Brick Australia commented, “We were ecstatic to receive the highest number of entries in the six year history of the event and the quality of the entries has continued to improve. It just goes to show how getting architects to think about brick can really add to the form and function of a building. The sustainable aspects of brick have also been reflected in the increase in the number of entries in the ‘reuse’ category”.

While the judges may have made their decisions, the winners will need to wait until October 25th for the official announcement, which will take place at a gala dinner at Doltone House at Jones Bay Wharf, in Sydney. The overall category winner will take home a cheque for $10,000 and the winner of each of the other categories pockets $2500.

The dinner will feature a keynote address by Award winning architect Dr. Anupama Kundoo and will be MC’ed by cricket commentator and sporting identity Kerry O’Keefe.